Mishna is the study of the Torah laws. It is the foundation for the Talmud.

The Mishnah consists of six orders (Sedarim, singular seder סדר), each containing 7–12 tractates (masechtot, singular masechet מסכת; lit. “web”), 63 in total, and further subdivided into chapters and paragraphs. The word Mishnah can also indicate a single paragraph of the work, i.e. the smallest unit of structure in the Mishnah. For this reason, the whole work is sometimes referred to in the plural form, Mishnayot.



« Back to Glossary Index